OMEGA League European Region Closed Qualifiers

Jul 17 2020 2 min read

OMEGA League European Region Closed Qualifiers ⚡⚡⚡ Esports news, analytics, reviews on WePlay! The latest news on WePlay!

As you already know, the announcement of a new league from WePlay! Esports and Epic Esports Events, OMEGA League, was successfully revealed! Details of the format and dates of the upcoming Open Qualifiers were also released. It remains to be shared the details of Closed Qualifiers in the European region.

Closed Qualifiers Dates

Group Stage: August 1 - 7.

Playoffs: August 7 - 9.


As a reminder, there are four Subregional Playoffs planned for the European Open Qualifiers, and two Subregional Finals combined playoff rounds. The top eight contenders - four from each of the two combined Subregional Finals playoffs - will receive slots for the European Closed Qualifiers.

Group stage. The eight teams who will get through the Open Qualifiers will join the eight teams invited directly to the Closed Qualifiers. All sixteen teams will be seeded in four groups of four teams each.

Groups will be played according to the GSL system - with opening series, pairs of winners and losers, and decider matches. 

Match format: best of three (up to two wins). The top two teams in their groups (with 2-0 and 2-1 records) form an eight-team playoff bracket. The teams that took third place will go to Divine Division. Participants who finish the Group Stage last will move to the special Last Chance Group.

Last Chance Group. The four bottom-placed teams in their groups will be brought together to play an extra round of the Group Stage in the familiar GSL system - with opening series, pairs of winners and losers, and decider matches. The top two teams (2-0 and 2-1 records) will also go to the Divine Division. The two losing teams will leave the tournament.

Playoffs. At the end of the Group Stage, the eight best teams will play a single-elimination bracket with matches up to two wins (best of three). The two winners of the semi-finals will go to Immortal Division, all the losers (six participating teams) to Divine Division.


In addition to the eight slots reserved for teams from the Open Qualifiers, the Closed Qualifiers are designed for eight more teams, directly invited:

  • Cyber Legacy

  • B8 

  • Team Unique

  • Team Empire

  • HellRaisers


  • 5men

  • TBD

Thus, the Closed Qualifiers will be a springboard for twelve teams qualifying for Divine Division and two teams that are eligible for Immortal Division.

* * *

You can find all information about Open and Closed Qualifiers and the new OMEGA League by WePlay! Esports and Epic Esports Events on our website. Also, don't forget to follow our socials: Twitter and Instagram.


World Esports Stands for Charity and Peace in Ukraine

Donate to Techiia Foundation to support charity and people of Ukraine for those who suffer the most, for those who protect the country from the Russian army forces right now and for those who will never return from this war but remain in our hearts forever.

qr code
How much of the '80s is in VALORANT
Street Fighter V without mods


dota 2
Dota 3: yes, no, maybe?
Gamers Galaxy: Dota 2 Invitational Series Dubai 2022
WePlay Esports to host the UA-stream for Gamers Galaxy: Dota 2 Invitational Series Dubai 2022
Dota 2
Chinese Teams Return Home
Dota 2
Puppey: “I don't really care about my legacy”
Dota 2
Team Liquid — WePlay AniMajor Team Profile

Other Categories

WePlay Promotes

Stand with Ukraine


Ukrainian Army NBU Fundraising


Come Back Alive Foundation