MLG World Finals; groups revealed

1 min read
Cover Image

The teams that will take part in the most important tournament of this fall have been announced. 

Held in New Orleans between 16-18 October, MLG World Finals is the next major LAN event to take place this fall. The eight participating teams have been split into two groups and only four will advance into the playoffs.

Cloud 9 and (monkey) Business will make their LAN debut at the 100th celebrating live event of Major League Gaming while Evil Geniuses, CDEC Gaming, Virtus.Pro and Team Secret will look to improve their recent performance from ESL One New York.

The eight participating teams have been split into two groups, however, the starting pairs have not been announced yet.

Group A

  • Evil Geniuses
  • Virtus.Pro
  • (monkey) Business
  • LGD Gaming

Group B

  • CDEC Gaming
  • Cloud 9
  • Team Secret
  • MVP Phoenix

MLG World Finals Format:

The group stage will be played in a best of three GSL style with a double elimination bracket. First two teams from each group will advance into the playoffs where they will be playing in a single elimination bracket, best of three games with best-of-five grand finals.

Along with the groups announcement, the talent desk panel has also been revealed. The entire event will be covered by joinDota but a few more personalities will also pair the well-known jD crew:

Talent Desk:

  • Toby 'TobiWan' Dawson,
  • Austin 'Capitalist' Walsh
  • William 'Blitz' Lee
  • Ben 'Merlini' Wu
  • Dakota 'KotLGuy' Cox
  • Alan 'Nahaz' Bester
  • Soe 'Soe' Gschwind Penski

WePlay! Digest

News, longreads, memes – the best from esports world is right in your inbox

Just one more step...

Go to your email and сonfirm the subscription. It's super quick.