EVO Japan 2020 Day 3 results

Jan 26 2020 2 min read

EVO Japan 2020 Day 3 results ⚡⚡⚡ Esports news, analytics, reviews on WePlay! The latest news on WePlay!

EVO Japan 2020 has finally come to an end, with several hard-fought victories, some upsets, and an all-round entertaining event. Today we witnessed the Street Fighter 5: Champion Edition, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, and Tekken 7 Finals

Without further ado, here are the tournament results: 

Street Fighter 5: Champion Edition

In Street Fighter V: Champion Edition, DetonatioN Gaming’s Sato “Nauman” Ryo sent Kenryo "Mago" Hayashi to the Losers Bracket while advancing to the Grand Finals. Mago beat Naoto "sako" Sako 3-1 to earn a rematch against Nauman and managed to pull off a bracket reset with a 3-1 score. However, the second set went very differently, as Nauman repeated his 3-0 win from the Winners Finals to take the crown. 

1. DNG|Sato “Nauman” Ryo 

2. Kenryo "Mago" Hayashi 

3. FAV|Naoto "sako" Sako 

4. Du "NuckleDu" Dang 

5. Seonwoo "Infiltration" Lee 

5. DNG|Hiromiki "Itabashi Zangief" Kumada 

7. Kensuke "Trashbox" Ishikawa 

7. YG|Masahiro "Machabo" Tominaga  

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate 

Shuto “Shuton” Moriya proved that Olimar isn’t dead yet, using the Pikmin wielding Captain to fight his way to victory. Half of the top eight consisted of players that were ranked 11-20 in Fall PGRU 2020, including Shuton and third-place winner, Takuma “Tea” Hirooka. Sota "Zackray" Okada , who placed fifth, was ranked the seventh-best player in the world by PGStats

1. SST|Shuto “Shuton” Moriya 

2. Kome 

3. Takuma “Tea” Hirooka 

4. R2G|Yutaro “Paseriman” Nagumo

5. GW|Sota "Zackray" Okada 

5. TG|Ishiguro “Raito” Tetsuya 

7. Kengo “KEN” Suzuki

7. Shky  

Tekken 7 

The Tekken 7 top 8 was filled with Leroy Smith players. Only second-place finish, Ryoto “Mikio” Ikeda didn’t use the Wing Chun master at the event. Since his release a month ago, Leroy has been considered overpowered by many. His overwhelming presence at the event only fanned the flames of debate even more. In the case of EVO Japan 2020 Tekken 7 champion, Nopparut "Book" Hempamorn of Talon Esports, he stuck with Leroy all through the final bracket. 

1. Talon|Nopparut "Book" Hempamorn 

2. ITO|Ryoto “Mikio” Ikeda

3. COOASGAMES|Takumi "Noroma" Hamasaki 

4. EQNX|Soo-hoon "UlsanGoDing" Lim 

5. Liquid|Genki "Gen" Kumisaka 

5. THY|Yuta "Chikurin" Take 

7. Masa 

7. Enokawa “Zeugal” Futoshi  

With EVO Japan 2020 done and over with, players have several other fighting game tournaments to look forward to before EVO 2020 takes place. Mark your calendars for July 31 to August 2, 2020. 


World Esports Stands for Charity and Peace in Ukraine

Donate to Techiia Foundation to support charity and people of Ukraine for those who suffer the most, for those who protect the country from the Russian army forces right now and for those who will never return from this war but remain in our hearts forever.

qr code
JerAx has ended his esports career in OG
Ono says Street Fighter V dev team is working on the netcode issue


Fighting games
Introducing WePlay! Compete: a competition app built for the FGC
Fighting games
Play Fighting Games on the WePlay Tournament Platform
Fighting games
WePlay Tekken Challenge: All You Need To Know
Fighting games
How To Improve Without Playing
Fighting games
Arslan Ash is the Champion of the WUFL S1 Tekken 7 Tournament!

Other Categories

WePlay Promotes

Stand with Ukraine


Ukrainian Army NBU Fundraising


Come Back Alive Foundation