Everything you need to know about the Worlds 2015 Knockout Stage

1 min read
Cover Image

After two surprising weeks of competition, the 2015 World Championship Group Stage has come to an end, making way for the Knockout Stage. 

After two surprising weeks of competition, the 2015 World Championship Group Stage has come to an end, making way for the Knockout Stage. Now, the remaining eight teams that have tasted international glory will continue their journey towards the 2015 World Championship Finals.

Here are the top eight League of Legends teams in the world right now:

Group A: Flash Wolves (LMS), KOO Tigers (LCK)

Group B: SKTelecom T1 (LCK), Edward Gaming (LPL)

Group C: Fnatic (EU LCS), ahq e-Sports Club (LMS)

Group D: KT Rolster (LCK), Origen (EU LCS)

Read on to find out more about the Knockout Stage format, how the bracket was determined, and when you can catch all of the matches.


The Knockout Stage is broken up into three parts: the Quarterfinals in London, England; the Semifinals in Brussels, Belgium; and the Finals in Berlin, Germany. Each match in the Knockout Stage is a Best of 5. The winner of each match moves on, while the loser of each match is eliminated from Worlds 2015.

The Quarterfinals bracket is populated with the top two teams from each Group from the Group Stage. Each Quarterfinal match will feature one No. 1 seed and one No. 2 seed from the Group Stage; however, no two teams from the same Group can be placed in the same half of the bracket. This organization rewards higher seeds for their performance in the Groups, and prevents rematches before the Finals. The winner of each Quarterfinals match will move on to the Semifinals.

The teams were paired with opponents randomly, live during the Quarterfinals Group Draw at the end of the Group Stage.

The Semifinals will feature two Best of 5 matches between the Quarterfinals winners. The winners of the Semifinals will then move on to compete against one another in the Finals of the 2015 World Championship!

The Finals is a Best of 5 face off between the year’s top two League of Legends teams. The victorious team will become the League of Legends 2015 World Champion and hoist the coveted Summoner’s Cup.


Teams will earn prize money based on the position they finish in the Knockout Stage. The breakdown is as follows:

  • World Champion - $1,000,000 USD
  • 2nd place - $250,000 USD
  • 3rd / 4th place - $150,000 USD
  • 5th - 8th place - $75,000 USD


The Knockout Stage will take place over three weeks in London, Brussels, and Berlin.


Date: October 15-18

Location: London, England SSE Arena Wembley, Arena Square, Engineers Way, London HA9 0AA, United Kingdom

October 15: Flash Wolves vs. Origen - 6:00 PM CEST / 17:00 BST / 9:00 AM PT

October 16: SKTelecom T1 vs. ahq e-Sports Club - 6:00 PM CEST / 17:00 BST / 9:00 AM PT

October 17: Fnatic vs. Edward Gaming - 3:00 PM CEST / 14:00 BST / 6:00 AM PT

October 18: KT Rolster vs. KOO Tigers - 3:00 PM CEST / 14:00 BST / 6:00 AM PT


Date: October 24-25

Location: Brussels, Belgium Expo, Place de Belgique 1, 1020 Ville de Bruxelles, Belgium

October 24:

Opening ceremony: 16:00 CEST / 7:00 AM PT

Game Start: 16:30 CEST / 7:30 AM PT

October 25: 14:00 CET / 6:00 AM PT (European Daylight Savings Time)


Date: October 31

Location: Berlin, Germany Mercedes-Benz Arena, Mercedes-Benz Arena Berlin, Mercedes-Platz 1, 10243 Berlin, Germany

Start of show: 12:00 PM CET / 4:00 AM PT

Opening ceremony: 12:30 PM CET / 4:30 AM PT

Game start: 13:00 PM CET / 5:00 AM PT

WePlay! Digest

News, longreads, memes – the best from esports world is right in your inbox

Just one more step...

Go to your email and сonfirm the subscription. It's super quick.