Dragon Ball FighterZ World Tour Finals day one recap

Feb 09 2020 2 min read
Bandai Namco

Dragon Ball FighterZ World Tour Finals day one recap ⚡⚡⚡ Esports news, analytics, reviews on WePlay! The latest news on WePlay!

The Red Bull Dragon Ball FighterZ World Tour Finals had a great start yesterday, bringing 250 players together in the final event of the 2019/2020 circuit. 

Beginning with the Last Chance Qualifier, a lot of great European talent that wasn't able to travel far during the circuit, showed the world the continent still has a lot to offer. The tournament was stacked with great players, including MrPopo, hirohiro, Derek "Nakkiel" Bruscas, and Steve "Lord Knight" Barthelemy. Toru "Tachikawa" Tachikawa managed to win the LCQ spot after defeating Kayne 3-0 in the Grand Finals. Kyden finished third while OBAssassin was fourth. 

Dragon Ball FighterZ World Tour LCQ results

  1. Toru "Tachikawa" Tachikawa
  2. Kayne "Kayne" S.
  3. Kyden
  4. Jesse "OBAssassin" O. 
  5. Hasni "Noka" Rivallin
  6. Alioune "Alioune" Camara
  7. Tako956402 
  8. Nicolas "SilverBladeZ" Zanini 

In the main event, qualifying players were split into four round-robin brackets from which the Top 8 bracket was determined. The biggest upset was when one of the tournament's favorites, Dominique "SonicFox" McLean lost to Jon "dekillsage" Coello, 0-2 in Bracket C. The American player also lost to B and Vineeth "ApologyMan" Meka to leave the tournament with a 0-3 score. 

Here's the full Dragon Ball FighterZ World Tour Finals Top 16 results:

Group A
1. Toru "Tachikawa" Tachikawa    2-1 2-1
2. Maddo 2-1
3. Marwan "Wawa" Berthe 1-2
4. Christopher "NYChrisG" Gonzalez 1-2
Group B
1. Goichi "GO1" Kishida   2-1
2. Matoi 2-1
3. Kei "BNBBN" Komada   1-2
4. Joan "Shanks" Namay Millones 1-2
Group C
1.  Jon "dekillsage" Coello    3-0
2. Vineeth "ApologyMan" Meka 2-1
3. B 1-2
4. Dominique "SonicFox" McLean 0-3
Group D
1. Shoji "Fenritti" Sho 3-0
2. Steve "Supernoon" Carbajal  2-1
3. Ryota "Kazunoko" Inoue  1-2
4. Seo 0-3

In just a few hours, the Top 8 bracket will begin, and it's going to be a tough one. Tachikawa will take on GO1, and dekillsage will face Fenritti in the Winners Semifinals. Meanwhile, Maddo will meet Matoi, and Supernoon will face ApologyMan in Losers Round 1.

The final bracket begins at 3:00 PM CET, with the Grand Finals and a special announcement scheduled to take place by 7:00 PM CET. Watch the action live on Red Bull's Twitch channel here.  


World Esports Stands for Charity and Peace in Ukraine

Donate to Techiia Foundation to support charity and people of Ukraine for those who suffer the most, for those who protect the country from the Russian army forces right now and for those who will never return from this war but remain in our hearts forever.

qr code
DreamHack Open Anaheim 2020 groups and matchups announced
Z Assist and other changes coming to Dragon Ball FighterZ in Season 3


Fighting games
Introducing WePlay! Compete: a competition app built for the FGC
Fighting games
Play Fighting Games on the WePlay Tournament Platform
Fighting games
WePlay Tekken Challenge: All You Need To Know
Fighting games
How To Improve Without Playing
Fighting games
Arslan Ash is the Champion of the WUFL S1 Tekken 7 Tournament!

Other Categories

WePlay Promotes

Stand with Ukraine


Ukrainian Army NBU Fundraising


Come Back Alive Foundation