Changes in League of Legends WePlay.TV tournaments

1 min read
Cover Image

WePlay.TV announces the suspension of League of Legends tournaments in 1x1, 2x2 and 3x3 formats

WePlay.TV announces the suspension of League of Legends tournaments in 1x1, 2x2 and 3x3 formats.

Due to the fact that Riot Games is stopped supporting tournaments, other than the 5x5 format, we have to suspend our tournaments, held in the format of 1x1, 2x2 and 3x3.

Official statement from Riot Games:

"Starting this year there will be changes to the community tournaments support program. All 1x1, 2x2 and 3x3 tournaments will no longer be supported with RP prizes. We wish to support the game mode, which is really competitive in the League of Legends starting from this year and the opening of the continental league."

It should be noted that the 5x5 format will continue to be supported by developers. Official comment on the 5x5 format:

"We will continue to support 5x5 tournaments. Each tournament can be have 3 prizes with awards in 3000, 2000 and 1000 RP".

Given the above, WePlay.TV makes adjustments to the schedule of League of Legends tournaments.

Starting from January, 18, 1x1, 2x2 and 3x3 tournaments are suspended. 5x5 tournaments will be held twice a week: every Sunday (as always, at 14.00EET/15.00MSK) and every Wednesday (19.00EET/20.00MSK).

Attention! Teams / players, who will take 1st - 3rd places, can not participate in the next tournament.

We understand and share your frustration with the suspension of the tournaments in your (and ours) favorite formats, and we will renew them at the first opportunity.

Sincerely, WePlay.TV team.

WePlay! Digest

News, longreads, memes – the best from esports world is right in your inbox

Just one more step...

Go to your email and сonfirm the subscription. It's super quick.